Lipstick Review: Palladio Velvet Matte Cream Lip Colour in Raw Silk

I’ve had this for awhile – I remember when Palladio was launching in Singapore they had a promotion where you could trade in any brand’s lipstick for a free Velvet Matte Cream Lip colour and of COURSE I jumped on it like a rabid person. FREE NEW LIPSTICK!

20170604_120233
Damn aren’t my nails an awesome colour!

This line is all named for fabrics which, as a past semi fashionista, I loved. I would have gotten Jacquard for the name alone because I LOVE JACQUARD. And damn, now that I’m looking at it again, the bright coral red really calls my name. 😉

I picked Raw Silk in the end because I saw it on BeautybyRah and I loved how it looked on her.

res_1468985140920
All credits to beautybyrah.blogspot.com

However it looks NOTHING LIKE THAT ON ME. Such is life! I think it’s because I’m quite a bit fairer than her.

20170604_120239

20170604_120216.jpg

Like is this even the same colour? Haha. It looks more like Boucle in the lip swatches on her side, except that my friend Jodulu wore Boucle out and it was definitely way darker than Raw Silk.

I would describe this as a rosy brown – definitely leans a lot rosier on me. I quite like it, actually. It has a bit of the 90s vibe due to the brown, and it’s definitely a neutral goes with lots of looks kind of colour without being a nude.

This is a creamy matte lip, so you can see it’s not 100% flat matte. It also doesn’t dry down all the way and will still transfer a little, but it means that it definitely doesn’t crack, and you can rub your lips together. It feels somewhat velvety/siliconey on the lips, but not extremely so.

Unfortunately I find this formula extremely drying. I don’t know what’s about it, but seriously, my Menow $2 matte liquid lipsticks are more comfortable than this. This makes my lips peel and feel painful. Since everyone else says they’re not that drying, I guess it’s just me. It’s a total shame because I love the colour and the formula is good in all other respects. I’ve worn it multiple times but I have to concede that it’s drying as fuck for me.

Will that deter me from wearing it? Probably not. I’ve still worn it (but probably not 2 days in a row) and I need to slather lots of balm on, but I am willing to make the sacrifice occasionally.

Overall, I would still recommend this line because it’s very affordable and the formula is nice, and most people don’t seem to have a big a problem with dryness as me.

Leave a Reply

