Foundation Review: EX1 Invisiwear Liquid Foundation in F100

EX1 is a pretty low key brand that isn’t really hyped up from what I’ve seen onine, but I think the founder of this line wanted to make a foundation line for yellow/olive undertones and more specifically Asian women (of all kinds – Indian, Chinese, etc.) Their range is pretty small – just foundation, concealer and a few blushes. Their foundations have gotten great reviews from many bloggers, and I was particularly inspired to pull the trigger by Paris B of My Women Stuff 🙂

20170604_124812.jpg

This is a foundation with the old colour system, and this was the lightest – the new one has a much larger shade range. Based on their new foundation finder, I am either a 2.0 or 3.0, whereas 3.5 is the old F100. Does this possibly mean I’m no longer NC20 but NC15, because F100 is a fair bit too dark for me? All the brightening treatments and tons of sunblock must have worked 🙂

Frankly, the packaging is hideous to me. It’s all plastic and very light, which I suppose is good for travelling, but the orange chrome screams tacky to me. The pump also doesn’t work very well – I have to keep the bottle upright to be able to pump things out properly. Thankfully I’m not too big of a stickler for packaging.

20170604_115249.jpg

This liquid foundation is on the thick side and will not run down your arm. You can see the swatch looks fairly thick. However when it’s blended out, you hardly see any texture or thickness – it is very lightweight indeed, rather befitting of its ‘Invisiwear’ name.

This is me with only skincare. My wisdom tooth/jaw hurts like FUCK today, which is why I think my jaw looks kind of swollen.

20170604_115018.jpg

And this is with the foundation on:

20170604_115306.jpg

It’s a very nice satin finish, not too dewy but definitely not matte. Colour match was acceptable (surprisingly, considering how dark it looks – looks darker than in the pic) but I definitely looked like I got some sun. Undertones weren’t too off though so it still matched me fairly decently, which is good.

Here’s a look at how it performs on this stubborn inflamed spot by my jaw. It works okay, and coverage is also decent. I’m not the best to speak about coverage of foundations though because I don’t exactly demand tons of coverage. Haha.  I would consider it a medium, definitely not heavy coverage.

20170604_115314.jpg

It also wears well throughout the day and doesn’t break up, but I do find that it gets dewier and dewier. It may not be suitable for people with oilier skin who mind dewiness. I also find that the texture is not extremely kind to any rough patches (see the spot on my jaw for example) and would probably not suit the very dry skinned. I feel it’s best suited for normal skin, or those slightly oily or slightly dry.

Overall, this is definitely quite a nice foundation at a very budget friendly price. I would pick a different colour next time, but this colour works well enough that I’m actually considering keeping it for days I might be getting more tanned by accident. Or I could mix it with my Koh Gen Do 213.

Have you tried this foundation?

Leave a Reply

