New Contouring Technique: Does it work?

Recently I came across a thread on MUACJD discussing how a certain Youtuber does her contour VERY high up on her face. Here’s the link to the video, if you’re interested.

I was reminded of a technique that Larry Yeo, a top local make up artist, did when I went to an Illamasqua event a long time back. He showed us how to contour using the Illamasqua Gel Sculpt. On people with faces with little dimensions (most Singaporeans, then…) he puts it right under the highest point, much like the Youtuber, rather than in the hollows of the face, as frequently recommended.

My own cheekbones are very pronounced already, so I tried it out on myself to see how suited this technique was for me!

[Btw, did you know that zygoma reduction is an actual plastic surgery procedure? WHO the hell would want to REDUCE their cheekbones? I thought mega cheekbones are like all the rage now, and probably forever past and future. Also maybe I’m a bit biased because I’ve always had mega cheekbones that get more and more pronounced the older and thinner I get.]

So this is my face with skincare and a thin layer of Koh Gen Do Aqua on, nothing else.

20170501_093302

 

The black area is where you would put your contour using this technique, right beneath the cheekbone, while the red area is where one would ‘normally’ contour, at the hollow of the cheeks.

20170501_093552.jpg

 

I used my cream contour (Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow) to map out where it should go.

20170501_093631.jpg
I hit it a bit lower than my diagram, but it’s still obviously much higher than the hollows of my face.

 

After adding more contour (NYX Taupe), the result is as below…

20170501_093845

Side by side for your easy reference, before and after.

My cheekbones are definitely more pronounced, but I don’t expect it to look exactly the same after contouring. Is it any more pronounced than a normal contour? I’m not quite sure, I feel like for people like me who already have very pronounced cheekbones and/or a thin face with obvious hollows, it’s probably better to get the contour right in the hollow for the maximum ‘cut-yourself-on-my-cheekbones’ goodness.

However, if you have a flatter face and you have to create cheekbones from scratch, or if your face is rounder (like the Youtuber, who doesn’t have as obvious hollows as me), this technique might be good for you.

Please note that I did not use any highlight, and of course if you do it’ll look even sharper.

What do you think of this technique? If you try it out, do comment with a link!

3 thoughts on “New Contouring Technique: Does it work?

Leave a Reply

