Skincare review: The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA

Time for the next installment on The Ordinary!

Alpha Arbutin is something that I definitely wanted to get, because who doesn’t want brightening and pigmentation fading? Arbutin is a key ingredient in many Asian skincare brands, but in here it is in a more powerful form Alpha Arbutin, and in a very high 2% concentration. The question is, does it work?

20170501_091959.jpg
My little girl’s grapes, just because.

This is a transparent serum that is slightly viscous. I usually use about 2-3 drops per time, morning and night, on my skin. This is non-irritating and also fairly moisturizing, thanks to the hyaluronic acid. It is a little bit sticky, also due to the hyaluronic acid, but I always layer stuff over it so it doesn’t bother me.

So far, using it day and night almost everyday, my bottle is about halfway through after 2 months of use. As this is very viscous, it does get used up fairly quickly, so you’ll probably need to replace this every 4 months or so.

Originally, I did think that this wasn’t doing anything. I think what this does to my skin is quite subtle. It imparts a translucency and glow to the skin, much like the Kbeauty ads that show off their models’ clear, translucently glowing skin. When I skip Alpha Arbutin too many days in a row, I do notice the difference, although it is subtle.

Although I wouldn’t say this is a core part of a skincare routine, it is something that’s very nice to have, and one that I do find effective in giving my skin a boost and to reduce pigmentation. I would likely repurchase it, unless I decide to upgrade to something more effective or advanced. It helps that it doesn’t break the bank!

2 thoughts on “Skincare review: The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA

Leave a Reply

