Review: Kiko Radiant Touch Stick Highlighter in 101 Rose

I got this item several years ago when I was in Italy, before highlighting and strobing became all the rage. I LOVE Kiko Cosmetics, and they recently have become available in Hongkong (unfortunately only in stores), but it means that you can get your Kiko fix somewhere in Asia, at least!

20170408_11271320170408_112730

Kiko is basically a drugstore-priced brand, even though they are only sold in independent boutiques. I bought this highlighter at that time because I had the Mary Lou Manizer, which was golden in tone, and I thought of getting this in a pink to complement that.

20170408_112831.jpg

This is actually pretty subtle, mostly sheen and no chunky glitter, but it is discernibly pink. It also has a super siliconey base, so it doesn’t emphasize texture too much. This also means that it’s possible to have your foundation and all pill up, as too much silicone is wont to do. It’s quite slippy but very thin in texture, so it won’t look like too much make up.

The packaging is a no fuss black plastic that is rather lightweight, like most of the packaging from their permanent line. Mine’s been dropped a number of times, and the swivel mechanism is a little stuck sometimes, but it used to work well. Haha.

Ingredients:

HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, DIETHYLHEXYL ADIPATE, DIMETHICONE, MICA, POLYETHYLENE, CANDELILLA CERA (EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX/CIRE DE CANDELILLA), TALC, SILICA, POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE, SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE, CERA MICROCRISTALLINA (MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX/CIRE MICROCRISTALLINE), POLYGLYCERYL-3 DIISOSTEARATE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, OCTYLDODECANOL, NYLON-12, SIMMONDSIA CHINENSIS OIL (SIMMONDSIA CHINENSIS (JOJOBA) SEED OIL), ORYZA SATIVA BRAN OIL (ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) BRAN OIL), CETEARYL ETHYLHEXANOATE, ETHYLENE BRASSYLATE, TIN OXIDE, TOCOPHEROL, LECITHIN, ASCORBYL PALMITATE, GLYCERYL STEARATE, GLYCERYL OLEATE, CITRIC ACID. +/- (MAY CONTAIN): CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE), CI 77491 – CI 77492 – CI 77499 (IRON OXIDES), CI 75470 (CARMINE), CI 77742 (MANGANESE VIOLET), CI 19140 (YELLOW 5 LAKE), CI 42090 (BLUE 1 LAKE). CONTAINS CARMINE AS A COLOR ADDITIVE

Apart from using it as a highlighter, one new way I like to use it, is actually as an illuminating primer. I’ve been wearing less and less base make up recently, and my skin has cleared up a lot (update post coming soon!) so I don’t use primers much anymore. However, if I swipe this on my cheekbones and maaaybe my nose, after sunblock and before foundation, I find that I get a very natural glow that isn’t over the top. Combined that with a sheer layer of Koh Gen Do, and I get a very glowy, dewy base. The Armani foundation is a little too heavy in coverage, I feel, for the sheen to show through, so I would probably pat this over it rather than layer it under.

The below is no make up, but with a generous amount of the highlighter slathered over areas to illuminate, mainly cheekbones. I was also trying out to illuminate the undereyes (which didn’t seem to work, haha)

20170408_113045

 

And here you can see how it looks like blended out. It’s nice and glowy, for sure. (Also how faded is my cheek scar now?!)

20170408_113146

 

This isn’t quite the product to use if you’re looking for a blinding sheen, but at the right angle…

20170408_113208.jpg

And with my sheer KGD foundation on top, and I believe some undereye concealer, it looks like this:

20170408_113540.jpg

Very nice and glowy!

I’ve also used this as an all over face primer before (in a moment of insanity, and also in my full face highlighter look.) It’s super glowy for sure, but because it’s not really blindingly bright, you COULD do it.

Although I think I would have preferred the 100 shade (which is yellow toned, and more of a ‘natural’ glow for my skintone) I do like this product very much. It’s versatile, and its thin texture makes it easy to apply over and under foundation. It’s definitely not in the instagram realms of blinding highlight from the high heavens, but I suppose that’s why I like it!

You can purchase it from the Kiko website here. (Unfortunately not in Singapore!)

Leave a Reply

