Fragrance: Niche Scents: Serge Lutens Santal Majuscule and Atelier Cologne Vanilla Insensee

I always said I’m flippant about fragrances, but once in awhile I will, in fact, obsess over them. I was enthralled by the review of niche fragrances on Badoutfitgreatlipstick and Brutallyhonestbeauty and I just HAD to find out about them.

In Singapore, obviously we have a very limited access to niche fragrances. Escentials is the leading retailer of niche fragrances, like Creed, Serge Lutens, Amouge, and Atelier Cologne. They’re at Tangs Orchard and Paragon, if you wanted to smell how all these posh expensive things smell like. I went there today for an expedition. Although I spritzed lots and lots of scents, the below are the only 2 I tried on my skin and kept sniffing throughout the day.

Serge Lutens Santal Majuscule: 

nd-15547

Please note that I have NO fucking idea how sandalwood or whatever is supposed to smell like, but apparently it has sandalwood in it. In fact, my sister said ‘this smells woody.’ She might be better at it than me. This smells slightly sweet, creamy and musky, but still quite delicate and balanced. There’s a vanilla kind of quality to it without being gourmand, but balanced by what I think is the rose. Doesn’t get overwhelming. I think it smells super sensual and sexy. You have to get quite close to get a sniff, but it is quite strong when you do. It gets sweeter on my skin as the day wears on. It’s quite a night time, sexy scent, and may be a bit too musky for the day. And it’s seriously expensive, so you better ration it for really special nights…

If this perfume was worn by an fictional character, it would be: Lilian from the song by Depeche Mode. The classic femme fatale, sultry and aloof, with men begging at her feet. Every dress she owns is a loaded gun 😛

Atelier Cologne Vanilla Insensee: 

nd-11456

I hated this on the tester strip. Which was funny, because I thought I loved vanilla. I then requested the lady to spray it on my arm. I still hated it for the first hour or so. I thought it was very metallic and alcoholic and there was almost no vanilla. After that, it settles down and WOW. I love it more and more as I sniff it. It’s a soft, creamy vanilla, not gourmand or tasty, very delicate. It also has a metallic tang to it that makes it fresher and more interesting. Think of the poshest creme brulees without the caramelized top, the ones with the black specks of fresh vanilla in them, and add a metal teaspoon on top. It smells like that. It seems too subtle for me though.

If this perfume was worn by an fictional character, it would be: The Heptapods from The Arrival (one of my favourite movies recently.) I know they’re aliens, maybe it’s the metal, it seems to suit them.

Leave a Reply

