Skincare Review: Neutrogena Extra Gentle Cleanser

This is another empty for the year! I’ve had this for like 2 or 3 years though, so it’s about time. There’s a little bit left that I’ve decanted into a small tub, but it’s effectively gone.

20170128_134840.jpg

Yes, you can see my bottle is super well loved!

First off, the features of this cleanser. As it claims, it is indeed a very gentle cleanser and very moisturizing. My skin never feels stripped after using it. There is no added fragrance, it smells very lightly of baby powder/lotion. I can rub it all over my eyes without worry of it stinging. It also doesn’t foam, it’s more like a cream cleanser.

The pump on the bottle is also lockable – I’ve actually decided to keep this bottle because I think it’ll come in handy in the future.

A peek at the ingredients tells you why it’s very gentle. Water based, and has glycerin, and a very gentle surfactant Caprylic Triglyceride, fatty alcohols, etc. Really nothing much irritating, and it doesn’t even have mineral oil.

Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetyl Ricinoleate, Isohexadecane, TEA-Cocoyl Glutamate, Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, PEG-20 Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Bisabolol, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Triethanolamine, BHT, Geranium Maculatum Extract, Dipropylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, Methylparaben

I brought a decant of this cleanser to Texas last year. And I wore lots of make up there, including my hardcore Japanese mascara. This of course doesn’t remove the mascara, but I brought a bit of mineral oil for the express purpose of removing heavy eye makeup, and this cleanser did the rest. It does a relatively good job of light to medium makeup removal even though it’s pretty gentle. The trick is to really rub it in like you would a cleansing balm.

At home, because I tend to slather oil all over my skin as the first step of cleansing and make up removal, this cleanser doesn’t do the job. It is, however, a fantastic morning cleanser. I stopped washing my face with cleanser twice a day because it was too stripping, but some days when I have a lot of product on my face (or mashed my face into my pillow a lot) I do want a nice clean start to the day. Just a tiny dab of this cleanser was enough to wash off the residue and leave my skin clean and soft.

You can buy this product from Guardian’s, locally, but I’ve never actually seen it in store (not that I’ve looked too hard!) It’s $15+ for 200ml, which I personally think is a little expensive considering I’ve found cheaper options. However, it’s definitely a solid choice that you won’t go wrong with. Please bear in mind that my skin is not very sensitive or dry, and if you’re very sensitive or very dry you may have a different experience.

Leave a Reply

