Tutorial/FOTD: Contrasty

20160912_104819

Today is a study in contrasts!

I have this gorgeous seafoam green Kiko Stick Eyeshadow in 09 Nile Green. Not surprising that I bought it right? These kind of seafoamy, minty greens are right up my alley. It’s a bit too intense and saturated for my preferred sheer washes of colour, when I do wear colour to the office, and so it’s been a bit neglected. So I thought up this look!

 

Look at my not-very-great flat lay pic:

20160912_151838.jpg

 

Here are the swatches of some stuff I used. L-R: Kiko Long Lasting Stick Eyeshadow in 09 Nile Green, The Body Shop Shimmer Cubes (some godforsaken, old quad) in Fiery, Makeup Revolution Newtrals vs Neutrals, top row 2nd from right, some taupe from a random Sleek palette that is a beautiful transition/subtle crease shade for me, Rouge Bunny Rouge Second Skin blush in Florita.

20160912_140013.jpg

The idea is basically to have a bright pop of seafoam green to pop with the reds and berry tones on the rest of the face.

Before anything, prep your skin as necessary. Foundation, brows, eye primer etc. If my skin looks dry in below pictures, it’s because I FORGOT TO PUT SUNSCREEN. Don’t ask me what happened to me today. Thankfully it’s very rainy and dark out today so I can get away without slathering sunscreen on my face.

Step 1: Take the cream shadow stick and poke the inner corners of your eyes. For less subtlety, cover a bigger area. I didn’t blow it out too large over my tear duct area because I’m all about the subtlety, but hey feel free! Also do the inner 1/3 of the lower lash line.

If you’re using a powder shadow for this step, I recommend that you lay a sticky and bright base in the inner corner to make it pop. NYX Milk would be a great choice.

20160912_103206

Step 2: Lay your contrasting shadow on the rest of your lids. Blend the colours in a little but don’t muddy them up. A sharp delineation is fine to me. I blended it slightly above my mobile lid.

20160912_103454

Step 3: Darken the lower lashline and the outer V with a colour that matches the colour on your lids. I’m using a very pretty berry colour in my Newtrals vs Neutrals palette. I also like to blow all my shadow placements out sideways to create a very soft and subtle wing shape.

20160912_103500

Step 4: Finish up with some touches. I did a very light shading in my socket, and emphasized my browbone more with a matte cream shadow. Add mascara. No liner because I like this look! Finish off with lipstick – this is a little tricky. I tried going with an MLBB shade, but I think it’s a little too mauvey and could stand to be a bit browner or redder.

20160912_104834

A few different angles:

20160912_105104.jpg

Add a matching toned blush and you’re done!

 

This is a very quick look – it only uses 3 main eyeshadows, 2 more if you want to be all fancy and shade your socket and stuff. It also requires very minimal blending, and is perfect if you want to look like you made a serious effort but didn’t really!

 

Would you be wearing this look?

Leave a Reply

