August Make Up report

I skipped July’s report because I simply didn’t do much. I only had 1 pathetic empty (sheet mask, lol) and didn’t buy anything, surprisingly.

This month, I still don’t have much to speak of in terms of empties. I got rid of 2 nearly empty nail polishes that were gloopy and was annoying even me. And one sheet mask. Erm… that’s it, really. Boring, so no pictures and stuff.

Purchases: 

  • Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundationi in #52: $14 Researched for a long time, bought and tried. Was on the fence about it, but the main reason for the destash was that I’m not sure it contributed to my chin acne, and because I finally sampled the Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation in 213 at the counter and it was much nicer.
  • Eccentric Cosmetics stuff: mainly the Long wear primer, and some sample shadows I’ve been lusting after forever. I wanted to hold off purchasing till the Boxing Day sale she usually has at the end of the year, but she was discontinuing the primer because of the unavailability of a wax she uses. So I had to jump the gun and buy it now, luckily still with a 15% discount, that allowed me to not need to hit the free shipping minimum. Spent about $26 SGD over there.

Total spent: About $40

Destashes:

  • The aforementioned Bourjois Healthy Mix…. I’m sorry, I’m really quite horrified if something breaks me out! My Armani foundation has never even MAYBE broken me out in the 2 years I’ve been using it even though the alcohol and fragrance is seriously strong in it. Plus it just wasn’t nice enough for me to justify keeping it around. I go through foundation REALLY slowly because I use so little at a time. Sold for $15, which is actually a small profit 😛

Total gained back: $15

Empties:

No picture because all these things are very boring. 2 cheap and old nail polishes, 1 sheet mask, 1 sample eyeshadow packet that I didn’t actually finish but depotted. So no actual empties.

Wishlist: 

Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation #213:

Since I crossed off the Bourjois Foundation and tried this one out, I’ve wanted it even more. This is a relatively good colour match, and it has a great finish. I’m trying to talk myself out of it because I’m not sure it differs from my Armani foundation enough – both are high-end (and sooooo expensive) and have medium coverage, satin finish. The Armani is more smoothing and photoshoppy, while the Koh Gen Do is more skinlike and ‘natural’.

Life’s Entropy stuff:

Life’s Entropy just reopened and ahhhh. Obviously the 3 new shadows are very up my alley, and I would like to get a full sized Brow Theory, except that I still have 1 sample left, grrr. I still don’t know if I will make an order this year or wait for the next year. D:

Jessup Brushes:

I love my Jessup brushes , and after 8-9 months of use they are still going strong. No shedding, no loosening, no nothing. I did molest some Hakuhodo brushes a few days ago, since we apparently now have a Hakuhodo counter in Singapore. But Hakuhodo is insanely expensive, as you know. I was molesting this face brush and saw it costs ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTY SEVEN DOLLARS and quickly put it back. They are super, super incredibly soft – obviously my Jessup brushes cannot compare, but they are also sell-a-kidney expensive. And high-maintenance. Anyway, Jessup has duped MAC brushes, including the numbering system, and I’m willing to take a chance on them since my current ones are so nice. It has the few brushes I’m looking for, which is an angled shader, a fluffy un-dense brush (the tapered highlight looks ideal) for setting undereye powder, etc. The multitude of blending and shading brushes look nice too. I’m not sure I want 19 more brushes on my vanity, but I guess I could get rid of a few dupes or something? Idk.

Skincare:

Thanks to my acne, I’ve been looking more into skincare as well. I wanted to try the OST Vitamin C serum, and also to replace my COSRX Galactomyces 95 Essence because mine is almost all gone. I would also like to try the COSRX Centella Blemish cream because my 5% benzoyl peroxide is nearly gone.

 

So that’s it! My Eccentric Cosmetics order is going to reach me in about a week, and I am waiting till after I receive before I think about buying more things 😛

Leave a Reply

