Review: Make Up Revolution Newtrals vs Neutrals Palette Review with 3 looks!

So, finally the review on the MUR Newtrals VS Neutrals Palette is here!

20160821_17231720160821_172310

It has a total of 16 shadows inside a compact, sleek black case with a hugeass mirror. A+ for packaging and functionality.

It is supposedly a dupe for Lime Crime’s Venus palette. You can google for comparison swatches, but here is a nice comparison I’ve found:

maxresdefault

As you can see they’re pretty similar! This is a swatch of only the top row of Newtrals vs Neutrals. The happy thing is the the bottom row is….

20160821_172750.jpg

A total dupe for the Naked 3! Okay, I don’t own the Naked 3, but you can see that the rosey tones are definitely a call to Naked 3 style palettes.

With this palette being a dupe for TWO different famous palettes, WHO WOULDN’T WANT IT?

20160821_172706

First up, swatches. These are all the 16 colours. Left is the bottom set, and right is the top set. Done on my arm with primer.

20160821_172715

The Venus dupe. There is literally not a single shade that is bad. The darkest shade, a brown, is a little on the dusty side, but nothing too horrible. The 3rd colour from the left, a peachy pink, is a little sheer, but can be built up.

 

20160821_172750

And the same photo as above with the Naked 3 dupe set. The darkest shade is again, a little crumbly and dusty, but it’s alright to work with. I looooooove the matte rosey taupe colour (5th from left.)

 

In the interest of doing a very thorough review, I did THREE looks with this palette: You can reference back to the top picture for what shades I used (numbered.)

Look 1: ALL TEH ORANGE.

20160821_174252.jpg

I do have a fondness for very warm eye looks. This was created with 9 as a base, 3 as the main lid colour with a touch of 12, 5 in the crease blended out with with some 2, and some 6 on the lower lashline. 8 to line the lashline. Lots of orange all around.

20160821_174323.jpgIt looks a bit dramatic here, but it’s not that dramatic IRL. I wouldn’t wear this to work, but I would wear this out anyday.

PS. beautiful shimmery peach lip colour by Life’s Entropy, in Ester.

 

Look 2: Subtle red eyeshadow.Β 

THIS is how you wear red eyeshadow to work.

20160821_175233(0).jpg

Far less dramatic than the first one, and much pinker compared to the orange of the first look. I used mainly 11 as an all over lid colour, with 7 used at the outer corners, making sure not to bring it above the crease of my eyelid, and to lightly shade the lower lashline. I used 13 to shade my crease and 1 to highlight my browbone. Quite a simple look, and one that I would wear to the office. Make sure to confine everything to your mobile line and it will look normal.

 

Look 3: Naked 3 Halo Eye

For this look, I confined myself to using the Naked 3 portion of the palette. And since I haven’t done a halo style eye in forever, so I made myself do it. Halo eyes tend to end up rather dramatic.

I used mainly 15 in the outer and inner corner and used 14 to make a gradient. The centre of the eyelid is 11, topped with a good bit of 10. I used 13 to shade my crease. 11 also ended up on the lower lashline.

20160821_180139

There is very little fallout from the palette despite all the shimmery shades, but do note that I tend to use a light hand. I have worn a look using this palette for a work day, and they lasted a good while although they did crease a little (most things do after 12 hours.) They are blendable and can be worn opaque or sheered out if you have a light touch like me. You can get a lot of looks purely from this palette, from warm to cool toned, avant garde to wearable. Overall, a fantastic palette with unusual shades, duping 2 popular palettes to boot, with a price tag of 7 GBP. Wholeheartedly recommend!

Leave a Reply

