Changed My Mind AND Cheap find: GNC Moisturizing Vitamin C Cream

There is quite a bit of story behind this moisturizer. If I recall, I was still on my Paula’s Choice moisturizer (emptied here.) My husband bought some stuff from GNC, and they gave him this cream FOC. The US GNC site shows the price as something like $2 USD, but in Singapore it’s listed as $15.95. Not expensive, but not cheap either, considering you can get COSRX’s well reviewed moisturizers at $16 plus shipping.

20160723_160610

When I first used this, I definitely had some misgivings. It’s a house brand moisturizer, after all. Looking at the ingredient’s list, it looks to be a pretty basic occlusive moisturizer. For some reason, the ingredients on my packaging differ from the Singapore one, but is quite similar to one listed on the US website: [still with differences though – and it costs $2]

Other Ingredients: Water, Ascorbic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Isopropyl Myristate, Petrolatum, Propylene Glycol, Glycerol Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Dimethicone, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Diazolidinyl Urea, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Carbomer, Methyl Paraben, Triethanolamine, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Propyl Paraben, Fragrance

In general, there’s a lot of fatty alcohols, petrolatum and some waxes, which makes it a nice occlusive moisturizer. I honestly don’t know how much vitamin C is in this thing, but if you got it free like me, or at $2, you probably wouldn’t care.

20160723_160800

The texture is pretty lightweight, like a gel cream. It sinks in quite fast and doesn’t leave much of a residue, so I think most people can use this cream.

The first time I used this, my skin was tingling for awhile, and it was mildly itchy. I was rather worried, but there was no lasting adverse effects and the itch subsided after awhile. I also woke up with nice, soft skin. It didn’t break me out or anything, for sure. I suspect it may be because of the niacinamide in my CosRX Galactomyces Whitening essence that reacted with the Vit C? In any case, now I put on some other stuff between using these 2 and I haven’t had the same reaction.

I’m pretty surprised by this moisturizer, and I’m glad that it’s pretty nice ! Although at the Singapore price of 10+, honestly I think you’re better off just buying a Cosrx moisturizer. If you do happen to get this for free though, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

