Not makeup: Super quick and easy budget meal

Pasta is my favourite brainless, throw-anything-you-have-in-the-pot meal. This week I am going through some big transitions, so I don’t have someone cooking for me, but I still want to pack lunch to work, and if I have enough food, eat some dinner at home. I know this is not make up related but I’m always very excited about my frugal ways.

1 can tomato puree $1.43

1 can diced tomatoes $2.45

400g pasta shells $1.50 (whole pack, which I don’t think I will finish in 4 meals.)

Celery $0.40 (used 4 sticks, around 1/5 or less of the whole bunch.)

Onion and garlic $0.10 (use as much or as little as you like.)

Oyster mushroom $0.50

Herbs, etc as you see fit, salt. $0.10

 

About $5.68 (my local currency) for 4 (or more!) meals. I’m pretty sure the spaghetti sauce is enough to last me for a gooooood long while. If there is enough I’ll also have a couple of dinners. This makes a SUPER chunky sauce, because there is a lot of celery (plus the mushrooms.) Reduce or skip either if you’re not a fan (I am!)

You can buy pasta sauce at the supermarket, but it’s significantly more expensive ($5+ for around slightly more thanΒ 1 can of tomatoes.) I like making my own, it has to simmer for awhile but that’s why I’m typing this blog post, right?

What I do is make a huge pot of spaghetti sauce and put it in the fridge. In the morning, I cook up my pasta shells (or any spaghetti, really) in a pot of boiling water while I potter around making and having my breakfast (the last of my soft fajita wraps from USA, usually with an egg.) When I’m done with breakfast, the pasta is done as well, so I just drain it and chuck it into a container with sufficient pasta sauce and bring the container to work. I do my make up after breakfast, and thanks to my weekly makeup basket, my routine is pretty fast, and I’m done in about 15 minutes, and that’s only if I faff around with my eyelash curler and mascara.

The beauty of the pasta sauce is that it’s very adaptable. Want some meat? I would throw some minced beef to boil with the morning pasta. Seafood? I have some frozen shrimp that I would boil with the pasta too. If not, I have a pack of ham that can be sliced up and tossed into the mix. Egg? Fry one up in the morning (along with my breakfast.)

It’s nice to know that I can still be independent when I want to be!

Leave a Reply

