Lipstick Inventory 2016

Here is my great big lipstick inventory of 2016. I have a lot of lipsticks, but I’m trying to cut down and have a nice streamlined wardrobe instead. There are also a few lip products that I seem to be ill-fated with, such as NARS Dragon Girl (which I purchased freaking TWICE and lost both times shortly after) that I intend to add to my collection, very slowly, and probably as I use up some stuff.

20160321_163258

I seriously did not realize how many lip products I had before I dumped all of them on my bed. I feel ashamed now. To be fair I already decided to destash some, but they don’t have takers yet, but I included them anyway.

 

I’m sorting out my collection in a slightly different system. I will be categorizing my lip products into: Natural (MLBBs and nudes), pales (close to or lighter than my skin colour, a category which I hate and am trying to get rid of), mid-tones (I look like I wore lipstick without being all I AM WEARING LIPSTICK) Darks (very dark colours, when I’m feeling bitchy or gothy) and brights (IN YO FACE.)

Naturals:

20160326_161945

L-R Guerlain Rouge G in ?, Life’s Entropy Lip Theory in Catalyst and Ester, L’oreal Shine Caresse in Venus, Dior Addict unknown colour, Revlon Icy Violet, Buxom gloss in Nicole, Buxom Full On lipstick in Hooligan, 4 (1 is god knows where) of my collection of Mentholatum Watercolour sugar lip and Maybelline Touch of Spice.

20160326_162121

Guerlain Rouge G in ?, Life’s Entropy Lip Theory in Catalyst and Ester, L’oreal Shine Caresse in Venus, Buxom Nicole, Dior Addict unknown colour,

20160326_162332

Revlon Icy Violet, Buxom Full On lipstick in Hooligan, 3 of my collection of Mentholatum Watercolour sugar lip and Maybelline Touch of Spice.

 

Guerlain Rouge G in a mystery colour is nice enough. It’s a nude that’s just a little bit brown, with gold glittery flecks. It lasts quite well, and is creamy and emollient and comfortable. I hate the violet scent and soapy taste though, and the lipstick weighs a fucking bomb. It’s not the most interesting lipstick in the world, but the only brown I have and it’s fairly nice (and I got it for a steal.)

Catalyst is my hands down favourite nude-nude. It’s just weird enough to be a rebel of natural, yet still look… kind of natural. It wears well, smells fantastic, applies super opaque. I mixed up a teeny tube of gloss as well, but unfortunately nude glosses have the problem of all nude glosses, which is breaking up and settling into lip lines.

Ester is a little problematic for me because it’s kind of orangey and blends into my skintone… kind of like a concealer nude-but darker? Lol. Still, a shimmery, pretty colour that I try to love.

Venus is a workhorse gloss, basically a sheer nude pink. It’s pretty emollient and thick without being sticky, and retains moisture in my lips well while going well over almost any colour. I’m not very excited by it but it’s sure a very useful product. It’s reaching its last legs, but I may purchase Lolita in its stead because I preferred Lolita, which was more mauve, in the same range (which I used up completely previously.)

Nicole is another gloss, sheer enough to be natural when worn alone. I really like the Buxom gloss formula, they smell great, taste ok (I wouldn’t say nothing, but I’m not grossed out the least by the taste) and are very emollient and quite tacky (which is how I like my lipgloss.)

The mystery Dior Addict is categorized here because it’s actually a bright coral, but it’s pretty sheer so it’s not bright, and the colour is actually really harmonious with my colouring especially when my natural lip colour shows through. It’s quite moisturizing, but isn’t emollient enough to stick around for long, and I greatly dislike the glittery bits in it. Still, I quite enjoy it, although I definitely won’t be buying it for $30+ when I can get a Mentholatum Sugar lip for like $5.

Icy Violet is a gorgeous sheer purple. It’s very pretty and ethereal without looking like too much lipstick. I would definitely repurchase if I ever run out.

Hooligan is my HG I am Being Serious lipstick. The colour is a perfect MLBB and it’s so moisturizing. I’ve used this mini for like a month but there’s still so much left?! Definitely buying the full size when I run out.

My Mentholatum range is basically tinted like tinted lip balm, some of which can be built up quite a lot, but these 3 look pretty natural applied sheerly. I stashed them here and there because they work for and with everything. I also frequently use them as a quick colour refresher without needing a mirror, so I bring a colour in the same colour family as my lipstick of the day.

Touch of Spice JUST barely makes it as a natural, it straddles mid tones and natural. It feels comfortable, isn’t drying, and is also a very Srs colour. Like it very much.

 

Mid-tones:

Obviously lipstick, but wearable on a daily basis.

20160321_175126

Life’s entropy Matte Theory in Variable, Buxom Dolly, Buxom Centerfold, Ellis Faas Hotlips L406, Life’s Entropy pKA, Life’s Entropy Biohazard, Buxom Nicole

20160321_175302

 

Variable is a colour that I didn’t like too much at first, but I’ve grown to love it and the effortless application and long wear time.

Damn, Dolly and Centerfold look nearly identical. The formula of course, is lovely, and I will definitely use them up. Dolly is a hair too dark/brown to look truly MLBB on me, and Centerfold looks like I am wearing vaguely purple lipstick.

L406 is a great colour, serious and kinda red but not enough to be a statement colour. Unfortunately the formula is very slippery and kind of drying, and the applicator SUCKS big time. Hate. Was trying to destash, but nobody wants it either 😦 Will probably try to use it up.

pKa just barely makes it as a midtone, I have grown to love it after bringing it to the US and I will probably wear it daily for awhile just to finish it up. I’m not planning to repurchase though.

Biohazard is GORGEOUS. It has green shimmer duochrome in it, but the base colour is a serious mauve, so it’s like being just a little bit alieny while pretending to be REALLY SRZ GUYS. I love it, and the shimmer gets more and more pronounced as the base colour wears away, but can be toned down with the Venus gloss for a great office friendly but eccentric combination.

Buxom Nicole is actually quite bright, but since it’s sheer it looks midtoned. I like the formula but I’m not crazy about the colour.

 

Pales:

This is my least favourite kind of lipstick, because I think it looks damned strange. Apparently I hated this category so much I forgot to take pictures of the lipsticks themselves.

20160321_174857.jpg

Illamasqua Fable, Life’s Entropy Enzyme, Mentholatum Watercolour Sugar Lip Dancing Pink, By Terry Love me Tender.

I tried wearing Fable again today, and it is TOO PALE and TOO PINK and TOO MATTE on me. I have actually been trying to destash it for quite a while, but no one wants it 😦 Enzyme was a tiny sample, bought to mix my custom lip colour with (not yet done, lolz.) Dancing Pink is my least favourite Mentholatum balm, because it is SUPER GLITTERY and not very moisturizing, and a pale pink. Yucks. Love Me Tender was bought as part of a destash set of high end lipsticks. While it is a very nice formula that unfortunately is violet scented like the Guerlain ones, the colour is a frosty peach. It looks good with some bronzer and a tan (The Beauty Professor seems to like it), for beach babe/summer vibes, but… meh. Nobody wants to buy it off me either 😦

These all look reasonably ok on my arm, but they look terrible on my lips. In addition to being pale they are also all pretty cool toned. So we see a pattern here.

Darks:

I try to keep my collection of darks as small as possible because I don’t get to wear them much in HOT HOT HOT Singapore. Obviously it didn’t really work, and some of these are favourites.

20160321_173827

Colourpop Sheer Safari (DC), L’oreal Shine Caresse Eve, Chanel Rouge Allure Laque Coromandel (DC), Guerlain Rouge G Gigolo, LA Girl Lip liner in Burgundy, Kiko Smart Lipstick 914 Amaranth, Revlon Matte Balm Shameless (DC)

20160321_173935

Safari, shown here in 1 layer, is impossible to actually apply on lips in 1 layer. And after swiping 2 layers, it’s quite a deep purple indeed, which… meh, I have other products I like better for. I like the Sheer formula the most, but Colourpop decided to DC all of them…. ah well. Trying to destash.

Eve also looks semi sheer here, but similarly it’s impossible to only apply 1 layer, so it ends up a very deep purplish fuchsia. Wears and wears and wears. I do like the Shine Caresse stains very much, but I doubt I’ll repurchase this colour since it’s not all too wearable.

Coromandel ends up a muted red on me, but definitely RED, to the point where I have to make sure my eye make up isn’t too strong or I end up looking far too done up in the day. It’s nice, pigmented and isn’t too slippery, but it is ANCIENT. Definitely have to finish it up ASAP.

Gigolo is a dark berry, that is pretty impossible to wear in the daytime in our kind of weather unless you are going for A Look. It is pretty though.

Burgundy is an okay lipliner. I usually use it under lip lacquers like Coromandel or my Ellis Faas. Nothing much to say about it. I’ve had it for a looooong time :/

914 Amaranth is a supposed dupe for MAC Rebel. It’s quite the statement colour, bold and dark. You can see it’s very pigmented and smooth. A very nice lipstick, too bad I don’t/can’t wear it more often :/

Shameless is a favourite of mine that I bring to almost every winter place I go to (didn’t bring it to the USA because we were staying with a conservative aunt whose opinion on dark purple lipstick I’m not sure about.) It makes a HUGE statement. The formula is comfortable to wear and lasts and lasts and lasts and stains. Application MAY be a little bit tricky because it might get patchy, but don’t press too hard and build it up in 2 layers and you’ll be fine. I will never finish it because I wear it maybe 5 times a year, but I will nurse it to the end of time, especially since it’s been DCed.

 

Brights:

Damn it, I have so goddamn many bright lipsticks and I don’t wear them often. AND SO MANY OF THEM ARE CORAL AND WARM REDS, WTF? I know I definitely will be repurchasing NARS Dragon Girl to have in my collection of brights, eventually. But when I finish up some shit.

20160321_175932

20160321_175650

Life’s Entropy Apoptosis, Mentholatum Kissy Pink, Illamasqua Scandal, Revlon Matte Balm Audacious, Colourpop Sheer Whip, Menow Matte Lipgloss 37, Revlon Siren, Menow Matte Lipgloss 27, L’oreal Shine Caress Juliette

Most of the warm colours. Apoptosis was for a lipstick mixing project. Kissy Pink was previously reviewed and raved about. Illamasqua Scandal looks weird on me, but I sometimes like it. Audacious is a patchy travesty. Whip is nice and relatively sheer, but seriously guys I have too many lipsticks, so I’m trying to destash it. Menow 37 is a very regretted purchase because holy sheet it looks like highlighter ink. Revlon Siren looks so burnt and muted here compared to the rest of the eye searing brights. It’s a very patchy orange that’s very hard to apply opaquely, so meh, am trying to destash. Menow 27 is a very intense warm red, as you can tell. I actually quite like it, especially for $2. Fills the Lady Danger hole in my heart, for now. Juliette looks really strange on me, not too flattering.

 

20160321_175926

20160321_175908

Maybelline Vivids Neon Red, Menow Matte Lipgloss in 29, Maybelline Vivids Vivid Rose, Kiko Luminous Chrome lipstick in Fuchsia,  Life’s Entropy Lip Theory in Fusion, Maybelline Vivids in Shocking Coral, Life’s entropy Hybrid. Sorry the swatches are not in order of products shown, I really wanted to compare Vivid Rose, the Kiko and Fusion.

Neon Red is a nice enough red, and applied sheerly it actually can go into the midtone category. Might try to do a whole week with it for an everyday red. 29 is the current placeholder for Dragon Girl, although it’s not as pink. Vivid Rose looks a little odd on me, I think there is too much cool toned pink going on, trying to destash. Fuchsia is an AWESOME fuchsia, it also has blue shimmer in it. My favourite statement lip, but unfortunately drying. Fusion is a lot less cool toned, which makes it slightly less statement on me, but infinitely more wearable. Shocking Coral actually looks coral here, which is a huge shock to me, because it looks SUPER pink on my lips. Not my favourite colour, trying to destash. Hybrid is SO robotic it hurts. MEEP. WHIRRRR. WORP.

 

 

Sheers and layering stuff:

20160321_175022

Illamasqua Lipgloss in Iridesce (LE) and Exquisite, Life’s Entropy Placebo (clear gloss),  Catrice lipgloss in Butterfly Kiss, ELF Super Glossy Lip Shine in Pink Kiss, Estee Lauder Lipstick in Tiger’s Eye

20160321_175031.jpg

Iridesce, Exquisite, Pink Kiss, Tiger’s Eye. I have yet to open Butterfly Kiss, and Placebo is basically clear gloss.

I think I have way too many sheer lipglosses now. :((( I like the emollience of the Illamasquas, although they are on the sticky side, and the wand is a brush type, which sucks big time. Both are sheer, layering lipglosses, but kind of require certain colours to work, cool toned for Iridesce for the gorgeous blue shimmer, and something near the nude spectrum for Exquisite. Pink Kiss was a freebie, and it tastes sweet in a kinda gross way, and is also a bit too slippery for my taste. It’s functional, definitely a lipgloss I would use if I had to use a lipgloss for the sake of it. Tiger’s Eye is a special edition, as you can see from the packaging. It’s basically a sheer shimmery bronze, which can be built up to semi opaque. I have no idea why I bought it, I guess it works for the beach babe vibe, but I don’t beach babe often. Placebo is not a clear gloss I like. The lip theories are a nice emolliency, probably due to the pigments, but Placebo is SUPER slippery. It’s not much different from putting cooking oil on your lips (which I actually tried, and which works fine.) Gah.

 

Total products is 50, however I am definitely destashing at least 5. There are others (like Vivid Rose and Shocking Coral) that I have listed for destash, but don’t mind keeping and using as well, that I probably won’t count as being destashed. So my total number of products is about 45. Man, that is A LOT. Time to use up some shit and destash as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

