Not Make up: Subscription Ice Cream

Pint-Society-About-Cover

I just saw a subscription Ice Cream service today. Ice. Cream. We’ve seen subscription services for lots of things, but ice cream?

It’s called Pint Society and I think it’s only available to us locals. for $38-$29 a month you get 2 pints of unique ice cream.

The price is a little off putting to me. I love ice cream, but after I took my vow of frugality and started my personal finance blog, I don’t think I’ve actually purchased any. My favourite brand is Ben and Jerry’s, which is incredibly expensive in Singapore. One pint is usually around $13.50 our currency (~$9 USD.) and when it’s on sale, around $22 for 2 (~$15 USD.) I only buy it when it’s on sale and eat it over a period of like, 3 months, if no one gets to it before that.

I’m also really picky about my ice cream flavours. I HATE fruit in ice cream, and I hate anything with fruit sauces or whatever too.

On one hand I think this is an absolutely adorable subscription service and one that I might actually try once or twice, but definitely not for a year, because I will not be able to eat that much ice cream.

So far, the flavours sent out are:

HAZELNUT BOMB
Hazelnut gelato, crushed hazelnuts,
chocolate cake, 74% chocolate covered cornflakes

Sounds yummy! Hazelnuts are not objection, and CAKE!!!!

PINACOLADA-NANA
Coconut sorbet, pineapple sorbet, with banana cake chunks folded through

One of the aforementioned fruit ice creams. Coconut is okay, barely a fruit. I’m not too crazy about the banana cake, but I guess it should be tolerable.

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN!
Fresh ginger ice cream, candied ginger chunks and a handmade gingerbread man

Urghhhhhh. Seriously guys, GINGER? I really hate ginger. I gag whenever I accidentally eat a slice. Gingerbread is fine, and the flavour of ginger rather than like actual ginger is also tolerable…. I think. But….. argh.

PINEAPPLE TART
Pineapple ripple ice cream with dollops of pineapple jam and flakey butter cookies folded through. Huat ah!

Inspired by our traditional Chinese New Year goodies, which I don’t love but would eat. Pineapple jam is something that I’m okay with. Sounds decent but not something I would love for $38.

BLACK & WHITE
Luscious 85% chocolate gelato with cocoa coated white truffles mixed in

Mmmmmmm, sounds like my kind of ice cream. But is this worth $8 more per pint than Ben and Jerry’s?

 

Would you sign up for this service? I don’t think I will right now, since I’m not supposed to spend any frivolous money and ice cream definitely counts as frivolous money, but I may in the future.

Leave a Reply

