Perfume Practice

I have a lot of indie perfumes I intend to buy when I go to the US. Trip is yet unplanned, but the intention is definite. My main jam is The Pie Hole set, because I have not a single non-floral scent and I LOVE Pushing Daisies, the show which inspired it. Side note, Lee Pace, who was also Thranduil in Hobbit and Ronan the Accuser in Guardians of the Galaxy, is the star and OMG HE IS SUCH A BEAUTIFUL MAN *hearts* And the 60s retro fashion and burst of saturated colour is like being hugged in a field of sunshine with puppies and kittens running all around. LOVE that show (and actually finished watching it, I rarely finish watching shows because I have a short attention span.)

Anyway, back to perfume. Since the full set is pretty cheap (though each solid scent is small too) I don’t mind buying all of them. I do need to practice differentiating my perfumes, though, because I literally describe my perfumes in just a couple of words.

So without further ado, here is my modest collection of 5 perfumes, all mainstream:

20160101_174655

Isn’t the pink guy the cutest little thing? My daughter loves him.

From Left to Right:

Versace Yellow Crystal EDT 90ml (full size), ST Dupont Passenger Cruise Pour Femme EDP 50ml, Viktor&Rolf Flowerbomb EDP 100ml (full size), Franck Olivier White Touch EDP 100ml (full size), Jo Malone English Pear& Freesia Cologne 100ml (full size)

 

All the reviews below were done without any online reference. After which I will copy and paste what they’re supposed to smell like, from fragrantica. All perfumes were sprayed once onto different areas of my arms. PS. this is not a good way to test perfume because I HAVE A HEADACHE FROM THE SHEER AMOUNT OF CONFLICTING PERFUME ON ME.

20160101_174816

Viktor&Rolf Flowerbomb: This is supposedly the stuff that like, teen girls spray like crazy in high school or whatever, but I love it. It’s like loads of flowers mashed together with something sweet. I smell a little bit of rose and jasmine but no very distinct specific flower. It starts off a little cloying but dries down really well, the sugary smell dies down a bit and it smells like ALL THE FLOWERS. Like I said before, I still find it very spunky, and I’ve had people compliment my perfume while wearing it. (A big thing because in my country everyone is aloof to each other!)

Top notes tingle with fresh and sweet accords of bergamot and green tea. A heart is floral and opulent with intensive, sweet and pure Sambac jasmine, seductive Centifolia rose, freesia and Cattleya orchid. Musk and patchouli in a base wrap us with an oriental scent, while its milky and powdery notes gently fondle our skin.

Erm okay WHAT, where is the green tea?? This smells nothing like the green tea I drink. And bergamot…. Earl Grey is my favourite tea and this smells nothing like it either. Maybe because it sat on my skin for awhile before I wrote all this stuff down, so I skipped the top notes. At least I got the jasmine and the rose right (Amazing!) I have no idea how patchouli smells like either. I definitely do not get any milk from this, it’s a much more sugary scent than creamy.

20160101_174731

ST Dupont Passenger Cruise Pour Femme: Husband originally bought it for himself before finding out that it was for chicks. He still uses it sometimes. It’s a musky, slightly leathery scent, not very sweet, so that’s probably why he thought it was for him. It has lightly floral (probably rose) notes, but also slightly peppery. It’s interesting, although probably meant for someone more Glamazon than me.

Passenger Cruise for Women is a fresh and refined floral – fruity – musky fragrance that opens with a burst of exotic pomegranate, Italian lemon, grapefruit and cassis. Delicate and sensual floral heart combines rose, Sambac jasmine and magnolia. Musk, Indonesian patchouli and raspberry wrap up the composition.

Yep, definitely get the musk, and the florals, and I guess this is how pomegranates are supposed to smell like? I can also smell the lemon lean now that I read it. I guess the slight bitterness must come from the grapefruit. The rose and jasmine prevails again (is it just coincidence that my fragrances all have it?) and now that they mention magnolia, it does smell like the Gucci Flora Magnolia that my mother had.

20160101_174742

Versace Yellow Crystal literally just found out it’s DIAMOND, I never knew after owning this damn bottle for 2 years++: I still like this scent, but it’s probably the most boring one I have (after the EA Fifth Avenue.) It’s a very fresh, green floral, ermmm, I honestly can’t tell what flower. Very sparkling. Now that it has dried down a bit it smells a teeny bit peppery to me, which I never noticed before. It’s kind of like White Touch (see below) but much sweeter and less musky, so like, more innocent maybe. I can see myself frolicking in daisy fields with this, but it’s not the most interesting scent in the world. It also doesn’t last very long (EDT after all.)

Yellow Diamond is crafted as a pure, transparent and airy floral fragrance, sparkling and intense as the yellow color, while being luxurious and feminine like a diamond. Its composition opens with luminous freshness of lemon, bergamot, neroli and pear sorbet. The heart features airy orange blossom, freesia, mimosa and water lily. The base is made of amber, precious musk and guaiac wood.

Well yes, it’s pretty transparent, in the very light and clear sort of the way. I definitely think of ‘sparkling’, although not intense and maybe not a diamond. I couldn’t identify any of the notes though, and I still can’t. It smells generic floral to me Ooops 😀

20160101_174754

Jo Malone English Pear & Freesia. Now that I’m smelling it I don’t really like it all that much. It lasts pretty long, but it has a strange smell. Like… musk, but slightly burnt. It’s not as pretty as the other perfumes I have, it’s more acidic and kinda burnt. It’s okay, but not something I necessarily like, although it is interesting. No idea if that’s the pear or the freesia. It’s also a little bit cloying.

Nuances of freesia and pear are very complex, since ripe pears were necessary to achieve a certain note to sound unique in composition of the fragrance. Pear in the moment of perfect ripeness has crispy structure of skin and juicy fruit. Pear is combined with quince which introduces honey sweetness and is surrounded with white freesia and wild climbing rose. A base of the composition is created of green, fresh and sour nuances of rhubarb along with warm and subtle aromas of patchouli, amber and white musk that stay in a trail.

BTW, the description says that this was inspired by John Keats’ Ode to Autumn. I like that poem and we did it in Lit class, so kudos. Well let’s see, I got the sour note (I don’t know how rhubarb smells like…) and the musky note. It starts off really sweet too. So I guess I got some things right. I think it smells much more like a pear in the opening top notes, as I wrote my notes the middle notes were just that flowery musky smell.

20160101_174804

Franck Olivier White Touch. This was an unasked for Christmas present from the husband. I know nothing about this brand though. It starts off rather musky and sexy, but after drying down, it’s much more fresh (but still slightly musky and seductive). It has a smell like those packet green tea drinks (always with loads of sugar) in the supermarket, but without the artificial scent, so it’s actually nice. It smells further of a bit of… rose? Overall, I like this, I would describe it as an only slightly sweet, fresh floral. It reminds me of my old Elizabeth Arden Fifth Avenue (since used up, review in the previous perfume post) but much more interesting. (I think the bottle design is really tacky though.)

White Touch by Franck Olivier is a Floral fragrance for women. Top notes are water lily, black currant, melon and pear; middle notes are jasmine, artemisia, freesia, rose and violet; base notes are musk and sandalwood.

So I got the musk right, although not the green tea. I don’t smell any violets at all (I don’t like them) although I did get the rose. The top notes seem really sweet and fruity but I don’t get those. Hmmmmm.

 

After my writings, I asked the husband to smell the various parts of my arms and guess the perfume and he got them all right!!! I am super duper impressed, he must be so much better than me.

I think doing this exercise has made me appreciate my perfumes and their intricacies more, and I know that I like White Touch, Flowerbomb and Yellow Diamond more, while I can appreciate English Pear & Freesia and Passenger Cruise okay (although I kinda feel like destashing them now, lolz.)

Leave a Reply

