Lancome Advanced Genefique Sample Trial review

For awhile, us Singaporeans were able to redeem a 1 week supply of Lancome’s Advanced Genefique, as well as the Genefique Yeux eye cream. It was basically 7 sachets of 1ml, plus 3 sachets of eye cream.

The 2 weeks I was away I used up 4 packets in around 10 days (I used something else for 4 days) and used up the full supply of eye cream in about 14 days. I have a small face and I think 1ml is WAYYY too much for single use. The full product is 30ml: you don’t expect us to finish it in a month, do you?! I would have preferred 5ml in a dropper bottle or something, which makes it much easier to control the amount dispensed.

The AG is infamous in my mind for false advertising. Quoting the source: In national advertising campaigns that encompassed print, radio, television, Internet, and social media outlets, L’Oréal claimed that its Génifique products were “clinically proven” to “boost genes’ activity and stimulate the production of youth proteins that would cause “visibly younger skin in just 7 days,” and would provide results to specific percentages of users. BOO HOO. Evil marketing nono. I also absolutely detest overpriced skincare, so it had a lot of negative marks in my mind before I even tried it.

It’s a serum that’s slightly more viscous than water, and slightly sticky. It absorbs lightning fast into my face and leaves no residue. There wasn’t much of a smell. I found the eye cream meh, but I find all eye creams meh. I didn’t find that it particularly did anything for me.

I think that skincare results are usually quite subtle, but let me just say that I had AMAZING skin in China, and I’m not sure what I can attribute it to (since I was using a whole new routine with samples.) My skin was SUPER soft and smooth every single day. I only got a single small blemish in the entire 14 days. I was suitably impressed, since I didn’t think that a new cleanser would make much of a difference, and I was using my regular moisturizer.

Ingredients in AG: WATER, BIFIDA FERMENT LYSATE, GLYCERIN, ALCOHOL DENAT., DIMETHICONE, HYDROXYETHYLPIPERAZINE ETHANE SULFONIC ACID, ASCORBYL GLUCOSIDE, SODIUM HYALURONATE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM BENZOATE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ADENOSINE, FAEX EXTRACT/YEAST EXTRACT/EXTRAIT DE LEVURE, PEG-20 METHYL GLUCOSE SESQUISTEARATE, PEG-60 HYDROGENATED CASTOR OIL, SALICYLOYL PHYTOSPHINGOSINE, AMMONIUM POLYACRYLDIMETHYLTAURAMIDE/AMMONIUM POLYACRYLOYLDIMETHYL TAURATE, LIMONENE, XANTHAN GUM, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, DISODIUM EDTA, OCTYLDODECANOL, CITRONELLOL, FRAGRANCE

There are some not so good things ingredient wise, chiefly being alcohol very high up on the list of ingredients. The star ingredient is of course Bifida Ferment Lysate, which is apparently, gut bacteria. It’s also very costly, at $78 USD for 30ml, although you can buy larger sizes for a cheaper per unit cost.

Now, a quick search will show you lots of dupes that heavily feature BFL. The Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair is one, at USD$62 for 30ml, which is marginally cheaper. And the Missha Time Revolution Night Ampoule is another. At ~SGD$38 with shipping [affiliate], it is definitely the best value for money of the common BFL-containing skincare products. You can read a smackdown between ANR and Missha here.

Many ‘experts’ in skincare also claim that BFL has no value whatsoever in skincare. This snarky little article I found here claims that the bifida cells would be already dead anyway and thus have no value for the skin. I’m not a chemist so I can’t give my verdict on this. It makes me a bit hesitant.

Since I still have 3 sachets of AG left, I will be using it up and giving my verdict on whether my skin is still as soft and amazing, or whether it was the colder weather that affected my skin. But you can be sure that even if I had amazing results with AG, if I wanted to incorporate BFL into my skincare I would be going for the Missha Time Revolution at a much more affordable price.

Leave a Reply

