My first ever liquid lipstick: LASplah Lip Couture in Ghoulish

Let me preface this by saying that I am obviously, not a make up newbie. I have tried nearly every type of product there is to try.

I have tried lipsticks that ‘dry down’ into a layer over the lips before. This is what most people refer to as a ‘liquid lipstick.’ There are other sorts of liquid lipsticks, like Giorgio Armani Lip Maestro, that do not dry down.

Personally, I don’t really like both kinds of liquid lipsticks. The Lip Maestro was super duper duper gorgeous, but it smeared like crazy, no thanks to the crazy amounts of pigments that got all over my face. If I didn’t need to eat I would totally use it (but obviously, I eat a lot so it wasn’t practical for me to keep around.) The dry down kinds are not very practical for me, because I peel my lips a LOT. It’s a thing (dermatillomania, to be exact.) and they flake away and look terrible.

Still, with the obsession with liquid lipsticks now and literally every single brand releasing their own, I decided it was time to revisit at least one.

Since I have almost every colour of normal lipstick I want already, I sprang for something way out of the ordinary. LASplash Lip Couture in Ghoulish is a close dupe for Lime Crime Velvetines in Cashmere, which is a freaking gorgeous taupey purpley thing. Of all the high-quality liquid lipsticks, LASplash is one of the cheapest ($25 if you buy from online sellers, $28 RTP) with the funkiest colours.

Colourwise, Ghoulish is a taupe with a greyish, slightly purplish cast. (it looks nothing like the lip swatch in the above photo. see my photo below.) I actually wore it to a business function today. The comments were not so encouraging, ranging from people saying that I looked like I had been smoking (I don’t) to people asking me if I slept well, or if I was sick. I guess this kind of very strongly-grey colour does it to people. When I looked at myself in the mirror it was like seeing myself in greyscale. I think I’m a bit too yellow, and the colour looks slightlyyyyyy weird on me, it could do with a bit more purple. If you are extremely fair (fairer than me) or cool toned, I think it would look absolutely gorgeous.

Remember, these apply as liquid, but dry down into a super matte layer over lips, kind of like paint drying on a wall. It’s super opaque, and very creamy. I had no problems with application whatsoever, it was really idiot proof. Swipe and then wait awhile. You can press your lips together at the very start, but once it starts drying, leave it alone or it will pool up (kind of like nail polish.) It dries fast, but not so fast that its difficult to apply. I’m the kind of anal person who uses a lipbrush for any bold colours (red, oranges, etc) and I didn’t find any trouble with going outside the lines with this at all.

I rarely show ‘after’ pics of wear, but here ‘s one that still shows the colour of ghoulish well:

Photo 16-7-15 10 51 37 am

Now, this looks rather bad, so let me describe what this lipstick has went through as of the photo:

1. I applied it last freaking night. Before I went to bed.

2. I had a very early morning. I wanted to reapply, but it looked more or less perfect, so I didn’t bother. After that, I went for a meeting, where there was some light food (nothing super oily) and I drank loads of tea. [This is a gap in my testing, where I did not do any serious oil tests.]

3. After I came home, I started doing my dermatillomania thing again. This is after quite some effort. (You can see the patchiness where my natural lip is coming through.) This is the only thing out of the entire list above that actually made any difference in the lipstick.

As of the picture taken, it was on my lips for like, 12 hours? Holy fucking shit, the wear of these things are insane.

Matte liquid lipsticks are known to be drying. My entire body tends to be quite low on hydration, but I spent the entire night wearing this lipstick (in an aircon room, no less) and I did not find it uncomfortable at all when I woke up. Only at the 10+ hour mark did I feel my lips getting kinda dry and flaky (which is when I started peeling it.)

I did press my lips together multiple times the previous night, before it was fully dry, and there were some little marks (not super obvious.) I simply reapplied over, and I’m glad to say that it doesn’t pool up or anything either.

I am personally super duper impressed with Ghoulish. The colour may not be everyone’s cup of tea (and I will have to debate whether to keep it or not) but the formula is really amazing. I’m still not sure I’m a fan of these super-mattes-in-an-opaque layer thing, because I think it’s more natural for natural lipcolour to show through as the day wears on, for example. If you like this sort of thing, it will be perfect for you. Some people have also mentioned that it has a chemical scent, but I didn’t notice it at all.

That’s why my opinion is that it is great to buy these in colours that are WAY out there, like blue and teal and whatnot. These are seriously fucking bulletproof. If you want to wear a lipstick that looks absolutely fucking weird, make sure that it stays on like, forever.

Short note:

There are 2 versions of this colour, OG-Ghoulish which used to be a limited edition, and a permanent Ghoulish. I think mine is the permanent, althoug I’m not sure.

credit http://www.beautylish.com/t/ipjcjx/la-splash-og-ghoulish-vs-ghoulish LEFT permanent, RIGHT OG

My own one looks nothing like both so I can’t comment. 😛 This seems to be the problem with this colour, nothing looks the same!!!!

Leave a Reply

