Concealer Wars: 17 Stay Time concealer and NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer

If you didn’t know, I lost my original concealer awhile back and lived without concealer for like half a year. No, I didn’t know how I do it either. Thank goodness I have good skin that doesn’t need to conceal blemishes.

Recently I bought two concealers. I grabbed the Seventeen (the Boots house brand make up) concealer when I was in Thailand because it was cheap and on sale, and I grabbed the NARS concealer because I saw someone selling it online at below retail price.

Photo 17-6-15 10 49 00 am
Sexay.
Photo 17-6-15 10 41 13 am
Seventeen Stay Time 18 Hour Concealer in Medium, Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer in Honey (Light 3)
Photo 17-6-15 10 41 49 am
Blended out

There are only a few important factors to consider when it comes to concealer. Concealer is hardly the sexiest make up, you know? So packaging and whatnot doesn’t really bother me, and it shouldn’t bother you, besides being functional.

  1. It must conceal, if not why should it exist? Hence, it should have very good coverage and stick to your skin tenaciously.
  2. It should match your skin tone as closely as possible. You want to hide the blemish, not accentuate it. One thing I hate about trying to buy concealers is this. So let me declare very loudly that I am around NC20 and both these concealers work for someone around that skin tone.
  3. After that, is other considerations like spreadability, lack of creasing, etc.

Let’s start with Seventeen Stay Time Concealer.

As you can see from the swatch, it is slightly greyish/pink. This may be due to the fact that I’m incredibly yellow, to the point where I wonder sometimes if I’m jaundiced. It is a reasonable match for my face though.

The texture is much, much thinner and more watery than the NARS. This also means that it is less opaque. I would peg it as semi opaque, not as paint-like as NARS.

Seventeen is a British brand, and hence it is very skewed towards the light skinned. I’m pretty fair, around NC20, and medium is sometimes a tad light for me, especially around the undereye, where I feel it gives me a slight reverse panda eye. If you are around NC15-20, it would likely be just nice for you.

For the NARS concealer, it is extremely, extremely peachy. It seems a little dark, but it works. It works beautifully for my undereye and cancels them out quite well. HOWEVER, it looks really weird on my blemishes because it is way too dark and peachy.

The texture is also really, really thick. It wears like paint and is very opaque.

For both, the packaging is similar, a doe foot in a lipgloss-esque tube. It is perfectly functional, although you may feel that it is not very sanitary, I don’t particularly care.

Overall, I much prefer the NARS, although I can’t hide my blemishes with it, so I’ve taken to covering up the occasional blemish with the Seventeen. The Seventeen is not perfect, but it is functional. I got the Seveteen for around $8 and NARS RTP should be something like $38.

If you are on a budget, the Seventeen works fine. If you want to go for near perfection, go for NARS. 🙂

Leave a Reply

