My No Make up Make up

I want to clearly define what no-makeup makeup means.

No make up means not a scrap of anything containing pigments on my face. No tinted moisturizer, no brow pencil. This, I very, very rarely do. Even if I’m just bumming in the house, usually I still fill in my brows at the very least. My brows are pretty nice, but they could do with some extra colour.

No-makeup makeup, in this post and to me, means that you are wearing makeup, but it looks so natural that it’s hard to tell it’s make up. Anything obviously made up is in the next category. For example, lining the waterline counts, but any eyeliner on the lash line, no matter how little, is make up. Blush, unless done extremely naturally simply to bring some colour back into the face, is make up. Anything not utilizing the tones of the skin and looks ‘made up’, is make up. Any visible bits of glitter or shimmer is also make up. We want to look like we literally just woke up like this.

The next in the category is natural make up. This would be natural, light blush, a bit of nude eyeshadow, eyeliner, etc.

So no make-up makeup straddles a very thin line. Apart from base products, I also use colour make up, but I have to use it in such a way that it looks like I was born with it.

I really woke up like this.
I really woke up like this.

My completely bare face is ok. I have no significant blemishes, but I have dark eye circles and my lips are very corpsey.

These are the products I used:

11 products and 5 brushes to look like I just woke up
11 products and 5 brushes to look like I just woke up
  • SANA Keana Pate Pore Putty to cover my pores, which still hasn’t run out after 3 years.
  • Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheer in #2. This actually has some shimmer, but mixed with foundation, the shimmers are not very visible, unless you are like examining my face with a magnifying glass. This adds a glow that negates the need for highlighter, which might look too ‘made up.’
  • Giorgio Armani Lasting Silk Foundation in #4. Lovely finish and one of my favourite foundations! (Okay, I only have 3 on hand right now…)
  • NYX Cream blush in Natural. I usually am quite gaudy with my blushes but this time I took just the slightest touch of it to my cheeks. It’s neutral toned and really ‘natural’, and goes with almost everything.
  • Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow. I used this to contour my nose because the cream looks more natural in an area that can look very obvious.
  • NYX Powder blush in Taupe. I used this to contour my cheeks, mainly because I think I’m quite dark now and Hollow doesn’t add enough contour…. dayum. It’s darker and more buildable in colour than Hollow.
  • The white little pot is my Za Pure Shine Lips in Apricot Nectar. It is actually an corally colour and has some glitter, but it is very sheer and adds some colour without actually looking like anything beyond lip balm, especially now that I’m applying with a lip brush.
  • Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Liner Pen in black. Since I lost my TonyMoly black gel liner, this is the only black gel liner I have. I used this to line my top waterlines. I tried using brown, but my brown is not dark enough. This unfortunately got onto my lower waterlines after awhile, which sort of ruined the no-makeup thing.
  • Random brow pencil in black. Seriously, I am not fussed about my brows.
  • NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Honey for undereyes
  • NYX Wonder pencil in light to add lift to my brows. It is way too light to be used on any other part of my face.
  • I forgot to include my mascara, but it’s the Cover Girl Clump Crusher. It’s the perfect natural mascara, because it darkens and lengthens and doesn’t do much else (including hold a curl………..)

Photo 21-6-15 9 52 59 am Photo 21-6-15 9 52 55 am

Can you tell I’ve got make up on? Lolz.

Some tips:

  • Use a sheerish foundation. I know my foundations are expensive. For budgeters, you can use a drugstore foundation that more obviously looks like foundation, and sheer it out with a moisturizer. And don’t apply too much!!!
  • I used Taupe as a crease eyeshadow just for some definition. It’s not too pigmented so it doesn’t show up as obviously as actual eyeshadow.
  • I used the NYX Wonder Pencil for a brow highlight because no shimmer, remember? Most highlight shades of eyeshadows are slightly shimmery.
  • I used the crease brush from the RT eye set to contour my nose, it is super huge as a crease brush but it works beautifully as a nose contour.
  • Try to use cream and liquid based products as much as possible. I find they give the most natural effect.
Leave a Reply

